Winner’s Circle….

May 3, 2008, Big Brown galloped to a decisive victory in the 134th running of the Kentucky Derby. I have owned race horses, ridden, trained and re-trained them. I have made a trip or two to a Winner’s Circle. Nothing however, ever compared to being right there at Churchhill Downs for the classic Run for the Roses.  That , my friends, that is the Big Kahuna of horse racing Winner’s Circles. The stuff dreams are made of.

I have had a work in progress for a while- I was calling it Easter Hat Lady for lack of a better idea. Suddenly- while watching the pageantry of the Derby I remembered all the wonderful hats and I thought- That’s it- She’s gonna be “Derby Hat Lady”. 

Ta Daaa!!!!                                                                                                                               

Here is a close-up of her-Looks right at home in the Winner’s Circle if you ask me……                                                                                                               

 

 

This is probably as close as I will ever get to a Winner’s Circle again….Sure looks like fun doesn’t it?

 

From what I recall- it was…;-). 

 

Do you have any Derby stories to share????  

One Response to “Winner’s Circle….”

  1. StJohnsGypsy Says:

    You certainly created a winner here! I just love her!

    And, I sure wish I had a Derby story for you!!! Never have been….just watch on TV. I’d probably be watching the people as much as the races!! Love those hats the gals wear!!!!

Leave a Reply

